The Rowling Library is an online medium that publishes a digital monthly magazine, has reported exclusive news, and has done several fan projects, such as the Rowling Index.

Support us by becoming a Patron of The Rowling Library

Articles Publications

Signed Edition vs Regular Edition: A Look at the Design Differences in “The Ink Black Heart”

January 12, 2023

The signed edition of The Ink Black Heart by Robert Galbrath features a different title page design compared to the regular unsigned edition, as you can see in the photos below.

Title Page - Signed edition of The Ink Black Heart by Robert Galbraith (J.K. Rowling)
Title Page – Signed edition of The Ink Black Heart by Robert Galbraith (J.K. Rowling)
Title Page - Unsigned regular edition of The Ink Black Heart by Robert Galbraith (J.K. Rowling)
Title Page – Unsigned regular edition of The Ink Black Heart by Robert Galbraith (J.K. Rowling)

The signed edition mimics the title design from the cover, whereas the regular edition uses a serif font. It is possible that the original design was the one used in the signed edition, as J.K. Rowling may have received the sheets of pages to sign, which were later appended to the book. However, after the signing process was completed, the layout may have been changed to the serif font used in the regular edition. It’s interesting to note that both editions share the same ISBN, which is a unique identifier assigned to a specific edition of a book.

The signed edition of The Ink Black Heart was a limited release and was sold exclusively by Waterstones. The copies were received directly from the publisher, as Waterstones is a major book retailer in the UK. This makes the signed edition a highly sought-after collector’s item, as it was available only in a limited quantity and through a specific retailer. Additionally, the signed edition adds a unique touch to the book with its cover-inspired title page design, making it a special edition for fans of Cormoran Strike series and J.K. Rowling.

If you liked the article, you can support us to help us create more content like this.